

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 16 MAY 2005 6.30 PM

COMMITTEE AGENDA

COMMITTEE ROOMS 1/2 HARROW CIVIC CENTRE

[N.B. PLEASE NOTE THE COMMENCEMENT TIME]

MEMBERSHIP (Quorum 4) (subject to confirmation at Annual Council)

Chair:

(subject to decision at Annual Council)

Councillors:

Blann Choudhury Dharmarajah Ann Groves Idaikkadar O'Dell Ray Arnold Mrs Bath Billson Janet Cowan Knowles Vina Mithani John Nickolay Branch

Issued by the Democratic Services Section, Legal Services Department

Contact: Michelle Fernandes, Committee Administrator Tel: 020 8424 1542 E-mail: michelle.fernandes@harrow.gov.uk

<u>NOTE FOR THOSE ATTENDING THE MEETING</u>: IF YOU WISH TO DISPOSE OF THIS AGENDA, PLEASE LEAVE IT BEHIND AFTER THE MEETING. IT WILL BE COLLECTED FOR RECYCLING.

HARROW COUNCIL

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MONDAY 16 MAY 2005

AGENDA - PART I

1. Appointment of Chair:

To note the appointment at the Annual Meeting of the Council on 12 May 2005 (subject to confirmation of that decision) of a Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06 (or now to make an appointment).

2. **Reserve Members:**

To note that there are no Reserve Members appointed to this Committee.

[Note: The Members of the Committee for 2005/06 are as appointed by the Annual Council Meeting of 12 May 2005.]

3. **Declarations of Interest:**

To receive declarations of personal or prejudicial interests, arising from business to be transacted at this meeting, from all Members present.

4. Arrangement of Agenda:

To consider whether any of the items listed on the agenda should be considered with the press and public excluded on the grounds that it is thought likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted, that there would be disclosure of confidential information in breach of an obligation of confidence or of exempt information as defined in the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985.

5. Appointment of Vice-Chair:

To appoint (subject to confirmation of the Committee's membership) a Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06.

(The Labour Group has nominated Councillor Ann Groves to this office).

6. Minutes:

To defer the signing of the Minutes of the Committee's meeting held on 7 March 2005 until the next ordinary meeting.

 Establishment of Sub Committee and Panels 2005-06: (Pages 1 - 6) To consider the establishment of and appointment of Members to subsidiary bodies of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06, including the appointment of Chairs under Committee Procedure Rule 7.2.

Enc. [Note: The proposed memberships of the Sub Committee and Panels relevant to this Committee and the nominees proposed as Chairs are set out in the appendices].

[NOTE: Members are asked to note that subsidiary body memberships must be determined in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and regulations made thereunder.

Therefore, whilst the Committee has to confirm the membership of its Panels to comply with the Local Government Act 1972, the actual nominations of named Councillors are decided by each group, from within the membership of that group.

It is not open to the Committee to seek to change or to delay the nominations duly made by a group. It is only if there is a failure to make a nomination or to act in due time that the Committee may seek to consider the matter further].

AGENDA - PART II - NIL

This page is intentionally left blank

Agenda Item 7 Pages 1 to 6

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

<u>Labour</u>

Conservative

Liberal Democrats

(1) CHIEF OFFICER APPOINTMENTS PANEL (5)

	(3) [(2) Voluntary]	(2)	(1) [From Labour Group allocation]		
<u>l.</u> Members	1. Leader of Group	1. Leader of Group	1. Leader of Group		
	(Councillor N. Shah or nominee) (CH)	(Councillor C Mote or nominee)	(Councillor Miss Lyne or nominee)		
	2. <u>Deputy Leader of</u> the Group	2. <u>Deputy Leader of the</u> <u>Group</u>			
	(Councillor Dighé or nominee).	(Councillor D Ashton or nominee).			

(2) EARLY RETIREMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (3) (Non-proportional)

	(1)	(1)	(1)
<u>l.</u> Members	Bluston	Knowles	Branch
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	1. 2. 3.	1. Mrs Bath 2. 3.	1. Thornton 2

(3) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3)

Janet Cowan

(2)

(1)

Ray Toms <u>I.</u> Members

II. Reserve Members

1. Mrs Bath 1. Ann Groves 2. Jean Lammiman 2. Thammaiah 3. Anne Whitehead 3. Vina Mithani

(4) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>

- Blann bers Choudhury Dharmarajah Ann Groves Idaikkadar O' Dell Ray
- Arnold Mrs Bath Billson Janet Cowan Knowles Vina Mithani John Nickolay

(5) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL

(3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

- Blann Burchell Currie Ann Groves Ismail Lavingia Toms Anne Whitehead
- Harriss Mary John Myra Michael John Nickolay Mrs Joyce Nickolay Versallion

Branch Miss Lyne

Branch

(6) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2)

(2)

<u>I.</u> Bluston D Ashton <u>Members</u> Idaikkadar Romain

II.	1.	Dighé	1. Pinkus
<u>Reserve</u>	2.	Burchell	2. Myra Michael
Members	3.	Mark Ingram	3. Harriss

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray]

(7) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Bluston Currie Margaret Davine Mitzi Green Ann Groves Harrison Lavingia Ray Stephenson Toms Arnold Mrs Bath Billson Janet Cowan Knowles Jean Lammiman Branch Miss Lyne

(8) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2) ((1)) ((1))	
-----------------	--

Blann Mitzi Green Omar Mrs R Shah Toms Myra Michael Vina Mithani Silver

Branch Miss Lyne

(CH) (VC) = Chair = Vice-Chair

Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.

This page is intentionally left blank

LONDON BOROUGH OF HARROW

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL) ITEM 7

MONDAY 16 MAY 2005

The Major Minority Group has proposed the following nominations to the offices specified.

7. <u>Chairs of Panels/Sub Committee:</u> (Rule 7.2 - Part B. Committee Procedure Rules)

Chief Officer Appointments Panel	-	Councillor N Shah
Early Retirement Sub Committee	-	-
Education Awards Appeals Panel	-	Councillor Toms
Licensing Panel	-	N/A
NNDR: Discretionary Rate Relief Appeal Panel	-	N/A
Pension Fund Investments Panel	-	Councillor Bluston
Personnel Appeals Panel	-	N/A
Social Services Appeals Panel	-	N/A

This page is intentionally left blank